Quick reads
- DX now available with a new 3 kWh battery pack, priced at Rs 1,18,599 (ex-showroom)
- DX+ gets a new 3.1 kWh battery, priced at Rs 1,27,650 (ex-showroom), with a claimed IDC range of 132 km
- Peak motor output on the DX+ 3.1 kWh has dropped to 3.8 kW, down from 4.78 kW on the smaller-battery DX+.
- Announced festive offers include cash benefits of up to Rs 3,000, an optional Rs 8,999 extended warranty on the DX+, and Rs 5,000 Amazon cashback for online buyers.
Indian consumers looking for a blend of classic design and zero-emission mobility now have a revised option to consider. The Indian legacy manufacturer, Kinetic Electric, has refreshed its popular DX electric scooter lineup by introducing battery upgrades. The DX range is available in two separate models: the standard DX and the DX+.
What Actually Changed
The headline number is the DX+’s new 132 km IDC-certified range (Indian Driving Conditions), a jump from what the 2.6 kWh DX+ was rated for. It comes from a new 3.1 kWh LFP (Lithium Ferro Phosphate) battery.
The 3.1 kWh DX+ is paired with a hub-mounted BLDC motor rated at 3.8 kW peak, down from 4.78 kW on the 2.6 kWh version, a drop of nearly a full kilowatt. Turbo mode is gone too. Where the older DX+ offered Range, Power and Turbo, the new one settles for just Range and Power modes.
The base DX gets its own new option too, a 3 kWh battery priced at Rs 1,18,599. What that scooter’s motor puts out, and what range it’s rated for, hasn’t been made public yet.
What Features Do the Kinetic DX Electric Scooters Offer
Everything else on both new variants carries over largely unchanged. The all-metal body that has become the DX’s signature is still there, along with the 8.8-inch LCD instrument cluster, 37-litre underseat storage, and the Telekinetic telematics suite that handles geofencing and vehicle tracking. The DX+ retains its 220mm front disc and 130mm rear drum setup, 12-inch tubeless tyres on both ends, 165mm of ground clearance, and IP67 sealing on the battery.
Regenerative braking, which Kinetic calls K-Coast, is also standard. Charging from 0 to 80 percent still takes around three hours through the Easy Charge system, where the charger folds into the scooter’s body instead of being a separate brick you carry around.
Kinetic DX & Kinetic DX+ Price
| Variant | Battery | Peak power | Claimed IDC range | Ride modes | Ex-showroom price |
| DX 3 kWh (new) | 3 kWh LFP | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Rs 1,18,599 |
| DX+ 3.1 kWh (new) | 3.1 kWh LFP | 3.8 kW | 132 km | Range, Power | Rs 1,27,650 |
The DX+ is offered in five colour options, including Red, Blue, Black, Silver and White, while the DX is offered only with Black and Silver options.
A brand riding on nostalgia, again
Kinetic re-entered the electric two-wheeler space in the early 2020s with the budget-focused Kinetic Green e-Luna, launched in February 2024, before attempting something more ambitious with the DX EV in July 2025. The company has marketed the relaunch under the line “Rebirth of a Legend”, and much of its early messaging leaned on that emotional connection rather than pure spec-sheet arguments.
This week’s update suggests the company is now trying to balance that nostalgia play with the more mundane business of competing on range and pricing in a segment that has gotten considerably more crowded since the DX first went on sale.